Cynicism

Some of what you said
made a lot of sense.

Is that because
you know things?
Or is that because
they could apply to anyone?

I can’t make up my mind.

You spoke of my dark past.
You told me
I have healed myself,
all by myself,
and I should be proud of that.

But do you really know of my struggle?
How can I tell?

You said he has a nickname for me,
but he doesn’t.
Not as far as I know.

You also said,
every lesson I’ve learnt,
every dark experience,
has been leading me to this place.

That I want to make a big change.
I should jump in and do it,
the angels will guide me in the right direction.

I want to believe you.
I do.

Were you holding something back?
Nobody came forward to speak to me,
Did they?
I was hoping for
a lost loved one,
but they never came.

Did you see something
you thought would upset me?
Do I have an aura of darkness?
You found it difficult to look me in the eye,
was I wrong to read into that?

I don’t know.

You said I looked blown away.
I think I felt uncomfortable,
but I’m not sure why.

You confused me.

And I can’t help but wonder,
if you saw the same foreboding
that he saw.

I do not feel better.

 

 

no face woman © 2017

Leave a Reply

